by the right attorney can make a
If you’re accused of theft in New Jersey, you could face criminal charges. And being charged with a crime affects all areas of your life. Your best option is to contact the Law Offices of Stephen Williams. Attorney Stephen Williams can discuss your case and inform you of the best course of action.
New Jersey Theft Laws
New Jersey statute §2C:20-3 defines theft as stealing movable or immovable property. It’s also illegal to sell stolen goods. Section 2C:20-7 of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice defines willingly receiving stolen goods as theft. If you’re confused about your charges, contact the criminal attorneys in Flemington NJ at the Law Offices of Stephen Williams.
New Jersey crimes are categorized as first, second, third, or fourth-degree offenses. There are also disorderly person’s offenses. New Jersey penalties for theft include:
1. Theft of less than $200 worth of property counts as a disorderly person’s offense. Punishment can include up to $1000 in fines and up to six months of jail time.
2. Theft of property valued between $200 to $500 is a fourth-degree offense. Punishment can include up to $10000 in fines and up to 18 months in prison.
3. Theft of property valued between $500 to $75000 is a third-degree crime. Punishment can include up to $15000 in fines and up to five years in prison.
4. Theft totaling more than $75000 is a second-degree offense. Punishment can include up to $150000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison.
5. Theft is generally considered first-degree when it involves a violent crime. Punishment can include up to $200000 in fines and up to 30 years in prison.
An Attorney Can Help
Theft charges are serious business. Criminal attorneys in Flemington NJ are ready to fight for you. Attorney Stephen Williams will fight to clear your name, reduce the charges, or minimize the consequences should a conviction occur.