by the right attorney can make a
Suspension of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) can cause significant problems for current and future employment. For many driving jobs, a CDL is required. In many circumstances a CDL suspension may be remedied. If your CDL has been suspended, then contact the Law Office of Stephen Williams to see what options are available.
What can result in suspension of a CDL?
In New Jersey, a CDL suspension may be suspended if there are repeated traffic violations, such as:
- Speeding over 15 mph over the limit
- Reckless driving
- Following too closely (tailgating)
- Failure to yield
- Improper lane changes
- Accidents involving fatalities
A CDL may also be suspended if you are convicted of driving under the influence, leaving the scene of an accident and other serious offenses.
How long will a CDL suspension last?
A CDL suspension can run from anywhere from 60 days to permanent suspension of your license. The length depends upon the reason underlying the suspension and whether there are any prior offenses.
How can you get a CDL unsuspended?
Specific procedures must be used to seek reinstatement of a CDL and removal of a suspension. This may require an application process, completion of certain tasks, and payment of funds. If you receive a notice of suspension, you may be also to appeal the decision to suspend.
The process to reinstate your privileges depends upon the reason behind the suspension and the length. If you receive notice that your CDL is being suspended, then contact a Hunterdon County criminal defense attorney to learn what options are available.
How can an attorney help?
A Hunterdon County criminal defense attorney can explain to you the reason for the suspension and assist you in pursuing reinstatement. We can help you understand and exercise your rights.
Contact the Law Office of Stephen Williams for assistance with your CDL suspension.
The first rule of law of driving is a driver is required to have a valid license in order to operate a motor vehicle. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission can suspend that license for a variety of reasons. Upon receiving a suspension, a person is no longer legally allowed to drive. Here are the possible penalties if you’re charged and found guilty of driving on a suspended license:
- First Offense: A minimum fine of $500 and a license suspension for as long as six months. If the original suspension was based on a drunk driving conviction, a violator can spend up to a year in jail.
- Second Offense: A fine of $750 and a license suspension not to exceed six months and up to five days in jail.
- Third Offense: A fine of $1,000, a license suspension not to exceed six months and a jail term of up to 10 days.
Keep in mind that on top of fines and court costs, New Jersey requires a license reinstatement fee to be paid in order to be street legal again.
Driving on a suspended license is a serious offense in New Jersey. You don’t just want to appear before a judge and plead guilty on your own. If you’ve been cited for that offense in or around Flemington County, you’ll want to be represented by a Flemington NJ criminal defense attorney from the Law Office of Stephen Williams. Mr. Williams promises to work with you in pursuing the best possible disposition of your charge. It’s highly likely that with his assistance and counsel, you’ll receive a far better disposition than if you were representing yourself.
Contact the Flemington NJ criminal defense attorney at the Law Office of Stephen Williams after being cited for any traffic offense. He promises to work for the best possible disposition of your case.
Most people know that there are consequences to refusing a breathalyzer test at the scene of an accident or if a police officer has evidence that the driver has been drinking. The Law Office of Stephen Williams, a Flemington NJ criminal attorney, would like you to know specifically what the risks are, so you make the right choices when driving in New Jersey.
Most of the traffic and driving laws are state enforced in the U.S. even though they differ throughout the 50 states. Some states enforce automatic arrest and suspension of the driver’s license with time in jail when the AlcoTest is refused. Some states require a court appearance, but if drinking is suspected, all officers will request a breathalyzer test.
New Jersey Law
When anyone from any state is driving on New Jersey roads, there is an “implied consent law.” This law is included in the consent to drive on New Jersey roads and states that all drivers have agreed to undergo a breath test when traveling in New Jersey.
As a practicing Flemington NJ criminal attorney, the consequences of refusing the breathalyzer is directly proportional to the level of conviction that the court finds in the DUI.
The consequences are as follows:
1. A first offense DUI charge results in the suspension of your license for 7 to 12
2. A second offense means a loss of license for two years with a plea bargain.
3. A third offense results in an automatic ten-year loss of license with a plea
If you have been in an accident or pulled over of NJ streets for a DUI, the BAC or Blood Alcohol Content that is received from the breathalyzer is only part of the evidence that will be used in court. If you have refused a Breathalyzer or have been charged with a DUI, contact The Law Office of Stephen Williams in Flemington to discuss your individual situation and rights.
Section 39:4-96 of the New Jersey Revised Statutes defines reckless driving as driving “a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.” It’s probably the closest offense to drunk driving, and it often operates as probable cause to make traffic stops on drivers who are later determined to be drunk.
New Jersey prosecutors and judges take reckless driving seriously. For a first conviction, an offender can be sentenced to up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $200, a three month license suspension and five points on his or her driver’s license. On a second conviction, a person can be sentenced to up to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, a six month license suspension and another five points.
Both prosecutors and judges are highly concerned with public safety. You don’t want to enter a courtroom on a reckless driving charge without an experienced and effective attorney representing you. The consequences can be harsh. Upon being cited for reckless driving, you’ll want to speak with the Hunterdon County criminal defense lawyer at the Law Office of Stephen Williams right away. The sooner that you retain him, the sooner he can begin investigating your case and building a defense.
Aside from the possible consequences with your driver’s license, a reckless driving conviction can impact employment, educational and housing opportunities. The objective of Mr. Williams is to eliminate jail time and a license suspension while also eliminating or reducing points and fines. If you’ve been charged with reckless driving in or around Hunterdon County, contact the Hunterdon County criminal defense lawyer at the Law Office of Stephen Williams at your earliest opportunity. He wants to address your reckless driving issue with your best interests in mind.
As soon as the officer hands you a ticket, your mind starts to race with questions. You may wonder what’s to follow with a fine, points on your license and higher insurance rates. New Jersey uses a points system for drivers with traffic violations. The number of points that speeding puts on your license depends on how fast you’re accused of driving over the speed limit.
Points for speeding in New Jersey
If you’re found responsible for driving less than 15 miles over the speed limit, you receive two points on your license. A speeding violation of 15-20 miles per hour over the speed limit results in four points on your license. Speeding 30 or more miles over the speed limit puts five points on your license. In addition, reckless or aggressive driving puts five points on your license.
Speeding and license points in New Jersey
If you get six or more points on your license in a three-year period, you must pay a surcharge for your license. If you get more than 12 points on your license in any period of time, the state suspends your operator’s license. Every year that you go without violations, the state takes three points off your license. You may also complete a defensive driving course in order to take two points off your license.
How to avoid points on your license in New Jersey
Points only end up on your license if you’re found responsible for the speeding offense. A Hunterdon County criminal defense attorney can help you challenge the speeding ticket in order to avoid points on your license. The Law Office of Stephen Williams can help you identify ways that you may be able to challenge the speeding ticket. Even if you don’t think that you have viable defenses, The Law Office of Stephen Williams Hunterdon County criminal defense attorney team can help you explore your options and create the best plan to minimize license points because of a speeding violation.
When most people are
pulled over by police and cited for a traffic violation such as speeding or
making an illegal turn, they usually pay their ticket and go on with their
lives. However, in situations where the traffic offense may be serious, it is
often smart to hire an attorney to represent you in court. Since serious
traffic offenses can carry such penalties as large fines, suspension of your
driver’s license, and points added to your driving record, having a Hunterdon
County traffic attorney on your side can ensure your legal rights are protected
during the process.
While traffic court is rarely viewed as serious by many individuals, it is nevertheless still a court hearing that can greatly impact your life. In these situations, the officer who issued the ticket will be present to tell their story to the judge. By having an attorney with you at the hearing, you will have legal counsel who can object to any statements from the officer that should not be allowed, allowing your attorney to cross-examine the officer.
Along with this, even if the evidence against you virtually guarantees a conviction, legal counsel from The Law Office of Stephen Williams will have experience handling these cases. Thus, they will be able to help negotiate a much lighter sentence for you, since they will know what others who have plead guilty to similar offenses will have received from the court.
As an example, by having a Hunterdon County traffic attorney representing you, it may be possible to negotiate a sentence where you will still be allowed to drive to and from work, rather than having your driving privileges completely suspended. Whatever the case may be, if you find yourself facing a traffic court hearing for a serious offense, contact The Law Office of Stephen Williams immediately to schedule a consultation about your case.